• Due to the present situation of COVID -19, 37th Convention of IAS which was scheduled for 3-5, November 2020 at University of Jammu is rescheduled tentatively for November 2021.
Home of the Indian Association of Sedimentologists Founded to promote the study of Sedimentology and integration with other disciplines Encouraging the interchange of research, where cooperation is desirable Discuss, compare and publish research results

Become a Member
Life Members

Notice Board

Due to the present situation of COVID -19, 37th Convention of IAS which was scheduled for 3-5, November 2020 at University of Jammu is rescheduled tentatively for November 2021.

 Click here for more details

Special Volume by the Journal of Indian Association of Sedimentologists dedicated to George Devries Klein has been published


Professor A H M Ahmed, Chairman, Department of Geology, AMU Aligarh and Treasurer of the Indian Association of Sedimentologists passed away today on 14th August, 2021. The sedimentology fraternity lost a noble soul and very good teacher and researcher.  May Almighty grant peace to the departed soul.

GOVERNING COUNCIL (01 - 01 - 2017 to 31 - 12 - 2021)


 Prof. G. N. Nayak, Goa University, Goa



Prof. S. M. Cassyap, Delhi

Prof. S. K. Tandon, Bhopal

Vice Presidents

Prof. G. M. Bhat, Jammu University, Jammu

Prof. S. Banerjee, IIT Bombay, Mumbai


General Secretary

Prof. MahsharRaza, AMU, Aligarh


Joint Secretary

Prof. Subir Sarkar, Jadavpur University, Kolkata

Prof. A. V. Joshi, M.S. Baroda University, Vadodra





Joint Treasurer

 Prof. Abdullah Khan, AMU, Aligarh


Foreign Secretary

 Prof. A. Sathy Naidu, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, USA


The members of the Governing Council are appointed for a period of two years w.e.f. 01.01.2017

   1.                   Prof. B. P. Singh, BHU, Varanasi

     2.                   Prof. A. K. Srivastava, Amravati University, Amravati

     3.                   Prof. R. N. Hota, Bhubaneswar

     4.                   Dr. Singarsubramaniam, Annamalai University, Annamalainagar

     5.                   Prof. Nilesh Bhat, MS Baroda University, Vadodra

     6.                   Prof.M.E.A. Mondal, AMU, Aligarh

     7.                   Dr. Biplab Bhattacharya, IIT Rorkee

     8.                   Dr. NiveditaChakravorty, Govt. College, Bankura, WB

     9.                   Dr. Pramod Kumar, University of Delhi, Delhi

  10.                   Dr. Rajeev Guhey, Pt R.S.University


Editorial Team

Professor Abhijit Basu, Indiana, USA
Professor Graham Shields (UCL, London

Associate Editor-in-Chief
Professor D. Rajasekhar Reddy, Vizag

Editorial Board
1. Professor G. Shanmugam, Arlington Texas, USA
2. Professor Zhong Qiag-Chen, China University of Geosciences, Wuhan-China
3. Professor M. E. Brookfield, University of Massachusetts at Boston, USA
4. Dr. Aymon Baud, Zurich Switzerland
5. Professor Jon Gluyas, Durham, UK

6. Dr. Jonathan Craig,  eni, Milan, Italy
7. Dr. James Riding, British Geological Survey, UK
8. Dr. Ameed Ghori, Geological Survey of Western Australia
9. Dr. Guido Meinhold, Keele University, UK
10. Dr. Daniel Le Heron, Vienna University, Austria
11.Dr. Armstrong Altrin, National Autonomous University of Mexico
12. Professor G.N. Nayak, Goa University, Goa
13. Professor B.P. Singh, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
14. Professor Santanu Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai
15. Professor Subir Sarkar, Jadavpur University, Kolkatta
16. Professor Erfan Mondal, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligah
17. Professor R. Nagendra, Anna University, Chennai
18. Professor S. J. Sangode, Pune University, Pune
19. Professor S.K.Pandita, Jammu University, Jammu
20. Professor Atul V. Joshi M.S. Baroda University, Vadodra

Managing Editors          
1. Professor G. M. Bhat,  Jammu University
2. Dr. Bashir Ahmad Lone,  Jammu University


Search us on Google Map



Dr. Bashir Ahmad Lone
Wadia Museum of Natural History
University of Jammu,
Jammu - 180 006

Email:     [email protected]